Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Brake Caliper Bracket Question
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Highpockets
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 11:45 am    Post subject: Brake Caliper Bracket Question Reply with quote

This bracket is to thick. it will not let the bearing cap tighten down properly. it is a beeline trailing arm and a appletree bracket. both of them say they never heard of this. someone did say they had this problem and milled the bracket down. I do not know the thickness of a backing plate in order to do that. somebody else said I need a different year cap. I would rather not have to mill it and if there is not supposed to be a problem, why do I have one ? I am new to this game. any help would be appreciated. thanks
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Last edited by Highpockets on Fri Mar 22, 2024 3:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
ORANGECRUSHer
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 1:42 pm    Post subject: Re: BRAKE CALIPER BRACKET QUESTION Reply with quote

Why not get longer studs?

Either that or weld it on the arm, away from the spindle. It appears to be right where you could tack it on the back side and then cut away the rest of the bracket and finish welding it to the side of the arm.

I know, I know, but this is supposed to be bolt-on. lol whatever.
Berrien Warrior 2.4L Quad4
LAZY MARY 1970 Baja 1835cc
BFB
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 3:24 pm    Post subject: Re: BRAKE CALIPER BRACKET QUESTION Reply with quote