Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

New to forum! Pics of my recently purchased Sebring kit car
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
WHYYYTRYYY
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 9:59 pm    Post subject: New to forum! Pics of my recently purchased Sebring kit car Reply with quote

Hey guys, my name's Chuck, and I just signed up for this Samba thing. Seems right up my alley. I'm a mechanic for a limo company, and luckily I have a very cool boss that said I could keep this project at work for a while.
Previously I was into Corvettes and street bikes, but a few weeks ago I stumbled across this beauty and couldn't pass it up. 1980 Sebring kit car, built on a year-yet-to-be-determined VW chassis (I believe 74 or later). Currently sporting a 1500 H5 block engine, not running. According to previous owner, hasn't moved much in last 10 years.
I paid some cash for it, got it flat bedded to my shop, scrubbed it for a few hours to brighten the blue impregnated gel coated fiberglass, and now I own the wildly impractical ride pictured. Plans include stripping the chassis and redoing the whole suspension, putting disc brakes on the front and rear, rebuilding the transaxle and engine (hopefully up to like 120 hp, but after a quick search I'm seeing the H5 block may not be up to this task), gutting the whole car and installing all new electrical, interior, yadda yadda yadda. You get the idea. All new. I can assure you I will be asking you guys many questions to get this chassis and engine sorted out over the next few months. But for now, enjoy these pictures of one man's descent into kit car madness...

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Letterman7
Samba Member