Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Can I bolt a type 3 auto to a type 4 motor?
Forum Index -> General/Chat Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Noslugsback
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 8:16 am    Post subject: Can I bolt a type 3 auto to a type 4 motor? Reply with quote

Ok, I'm new to the VW world but I just got a dune buggy with an auto trans and it won't go into reverse. I picked up a trans that looks identical but the guy said he was told it came out of a type 3. I was wondering what I'd have to do or what I'd have to change to bolt it up. The motor CB904907/021119225D I believe is a 1700 out of a 73 bus and the trans 00332110D I'm guessing came out of the same bus. The trans that I acquired is 003321105A VW 1a. I have no idea of what I've been told is correct, some people have told me I can bolt it up some have said it probably has a different torque converter on it and won't bolt up. Any advice or places I can go to find out what I have and what to do would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!!
old DKP driver
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:06 am    Post subject: Re: Can I bolt a type 3 auto to a type 4 motor? Reply with quote

Yes, you sure can Smile  What is your project ?

Now what model did you have in mind? as this is important as the Differential
(final drive) are different

If you are using a type 3 for instance then you should cruise on over to
the type 3 forum .
raygreenwood
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:53 am    Post subject: Re: Can I bolt a type 3 auto to a type 4 motor? Reply with quote

old DKP driver wrote:
Yes, you sure can Smile  What is your project ?

Now what model did you have in mind? as this is important as the Differential
(final drive) are different