Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1.8 Porsche engine fitting to a type 1 transmission?
Forum Index -> Porsche - 911/912/914 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
burnin8r
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 2:57 pm    Post subject: 1.8 Porsche engine fitting to a type 1 transmission? Reply with quote

Hi, Total newbie here, I have a what I believe is a 1600cc (siezed) twin port on a swing-tube (I'm not sure what you guys call it) style transmission on my "mystery buggy" I'm looking at a 1.8 from a '73 914... question is, will it fit the transmission I have or will I have to chop the back of the dogbone off to fit the IRS and pop in the porsche transmission?

Just wanting to beef up the ride a bit and keep the reliability of a stock engine.

I will post pictures of the buggy when I've got this figured out.... haven't posted on a thread in years.[/img]
raygreenwood
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:15 pm    Post subject: Re: 1.8 Porsche engine fitting to a type 1 transmission? Reply with quote

You know....i don't know for sure. The type 4 engine will bolt up to a type 1 IRS....same bolt pattern....minor bell housing clearancing for a stock type 4 flywheel....or you can spend the money $$$....for a 200mm converion flywheel.

So....if the normal type 1 engine easily swaps back and forth between swing axle and IRS transmission.....the type 4 engine should bolt right up to it.

Bear in mind......the type 4 engine is heavier.....like 75 lbs more. You will need to fashion a rear hanger bar for the engine. Do some searches and take a look on the shoptalk forums on the type 4rum......under the conversion thread. Lots of info there. Ray
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
burnin8r
Samba Member