Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Suspension adventures, King pin/IRS, learned lots...a few Q's ?
Forum Index -> Kit Car/Fiberglass Buggy/356 Replica Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ve7kilohertz
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 9:22 am    Post subject: Suspension adventures, King pin/IRS, learned lots...a few Q's ? Reply with quote

My son and I have been working on our buggy now for 3 weeks and are really looking forward to getting it on the road. This week I decided I wanted to tackle the suspension and get everything done that needed doing so we can get the body on and get at the wiring and seats etc. I started by mounting the engine and placing several of my spare Bobcat wheel/tire combos on the trans-axle to simulate body load. I studied the Samba for a few days prior to doing this so when the time came to index the rear torsion tubes, it was a breeze. Thanks all! Caps came off easily, found urethane outer bushings already installed, and the torsion rod was like new, with anti-seize one the inside end, but the spring plate was frozen onto the outer end of the shaft. Quick application of propane torch and tapping with a hammer freed it and once out I wire wheeled the splines and applied anti-seize. Made sure everything was smooth and easy to remove and then started to figure out the angle I wanted. When I got the buggy there was so much preload on the springs that there was ZERO suspension travel, they were hard against the bottom stops, even 2 guys jumping up and down on the back couldn't get it to move. So I basically started from scratch, and set it so that the spring plate sits about 3/8-1/2" off the bottom stop, giving lots of vertical travel. With the simulated body load of Bobcat wheels and me standing on the back, I can get nice smooth suspensio