Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

New to VW, New to Vintage Mechanics. 1974 Super Beetle
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
JCrimson
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed May 18, 2016 8:49 pm    Post subject: New to VW, New to Vintage Mechanics. 1974 Super Beetle Reply with quote

Hello, I am Jake. I figured I would create an introductory post to display what I've got and give a little background information on myself.

Myself
I am a graduate of Indiana University with a Bachelors in Graphic Design, as well as a graduate of Ivy Tech University with an Associates in PC Support and Administration. I've loved cars since before I could drive. I've owned a strange few, from my first vehicle being a 1990 Ford Bronco, to a 1995 Nissan 200sx, and currently a 1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee. I've learned all that I know through the use of forums, as well as trial and error mechanics, and I've gathered the wisdom from anyone willing to teach me. My uncle has a knack for collecting projects and being a perfectionist, while my father is less of a perfectionist and more of a "let's find out if it works" type of guy.

Here I am, standing next to my uncles '59 Bug Eye Sprite.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

The Beetle.
The Beetle I will be buying is a 1974 VW Super Beetle. It was purchased new by my aunts' husband's mother, in 1974. She kept it up until her death in the early 2000's, sometime around 2003. My aunts daughter (my cousin) was willed the Beetle and has owned it ever since. The odometer reads 83,XXX miles, and I believe it to be accurate due to the original owners age. It's been parked since 2008, but it actually spent most of its life outside in the Indiana elements.