Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

My 64 notchback build thread
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Forum Index -> Type 3 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
This page may contain links to eBay where the site receives compensation.
tubbstravis
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 10:40 pm    Post subject: My 64 notchback build thread Reply with quote

Hey all, I am new to VW. It is my 3rd project, but I am totally new to anything older that the late 70s and VW. I have been working on my notchback for about a month now, it runs well and the body is straight and rust free...I am about to be to the point where I am either going to take a go at painting it myself or looking around for someone to do it for me(I am a notorious bad painter).
1st question
Anyways on to my question. I have the 6.00-15 tires on it that were the originals. Is it ideal to put modern radial tires on it? if so what size can fit? Perhaps a tire that I would not have to special order. I have some 225/r60/16's that came off my honda civic is why I am asking.
2nd question
Also, I see a lot of lug conversion plates, will those make my ride not as smooth or should I stay away from those? I need a general rundown on what I need to look for in this part.
3rd qustion
Also, brake conversions. Should I go to disc brakes or should I stick with the drums? If so can I get pointed to the kit that I need to buy? there is so much out there (ive been buying most of my stuff on jbug).
Lastly (for now), How do I get my shifting rod out in my type 3??? I do not have 2 different covers with the couplet in the back like in the beetle. (that I could see).

Ill see if I can't get some pictures up here to document my project before too long. Very Happy