Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Looking For Advice on First Gen Wasser Beetles
Forum Index -> Water-cooled VW Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
GOH2O
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:46 pm    Post subject: Looking For Advice on First Gen Wasser Beetles Reply with quote

Question Hello, and thanks in advance for any advice that might be headed my way. I am looking for general information about first generation water-cooled Beetles. I want to purchase one for my daughter's first car. So, it will need to be an auto-trans. I have a limit of about $6k.

I am not a novice car guy, but I know nothing about water-cooled VWs. I am trying to find out if there are years to avoid. Are there common and expensive problems to look for? Is there a printed buyer's guide for these as there are for air-cooled Beetles? Are there expensive maintenance issues like timing belts (interference fit or not, can this be done in a home garage)? Are diesels a good choice? What is the maximum "life expectancy" with good care?

So many questions!

Anything that gets me pointed in the right direction would be great.

Many thanks! As a public school educator, I cannot afford to make a huge mistake. Yellow Ghia

GOH2O
jmartin7
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2016 6:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Looking For Advice on First Gen Wasser Beetles Reply with quote