Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

introduction - 1974 Ghia restoration
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Sofia74
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 5:07 pm    Post subject: introduction - 1974 Ghia restoration Reply with quote

I have been following this site for a while now but this is my first post as my wife and I are getting started on a restoration of a 1974 Karmann Ghia.

I have been driving a 1972 Porsche 911T for 24 years now and am a big fan of simple well designed cars. I have done some of the basic mechanical work on the car over the years but have not done any body work, painting or welding. This will be our first restoration project and the goal is to (try to) do all the work ourselves.

The car came to us through a neighbor who had owned it for 25 years. He was even kind enough to hold onto the car until we were ready. The good news is we are now ready to begin the work. The bad news is, as we started to tear in to it, there is a bit more rust than we had hoped for. But as I mentioned the car sorta found us so we’ll work with what we have.

The project has been in planning for some time now and we have done some research including this website and a number of books. The restoration will be resto-mod, a word we picked up watching auto auctions on TV. We want the car to look generally stock but we will make some safety upgrades, likely brakes, suspension, etc. We don’t intend to go back to its original orange but haven’t made a color decision yet. I’d like to increase the horsepower but haven’t decided how to do that yet, new engine or upgrade current. Plenty of time to decide.