Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Diving In. 1st Engine Rebuild
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Abouna
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:10 am    Post subject: Diving In. 1st Engine Rebuild Reply with quote

I've decided to make this thread mostly to keep myself motivated and hopefully get some encouragement from others. This is my first VW rebuild, or rebuild of any kind for that matter. I've rebuilt some old woodworking machines, so I've got some experience turning wrenches, fitting bearings and measuring to the thousandths of an inch. But I'm by no means experienced. I'm following the Wilson book, and the Bug Me videos.

I want to improve the performance of the engine since it's out, but I'm not yet experienced enough to know which direction to take there. I've been doing a lot of reading, here and elsewhere, but am still a bit undecided. It looks like my case (1600CC AS41, Mexico from probably 71) will need to be line bored, so the possibility of going with larger cylinders is there (not crazy about the slip ins, from what I've read so far.) I don't want a hot rod, just a solid reliable daily driver with a little more oomph now and then.

Getting the gland nut off was fun. I bent my cheater bar first, then broke my grandfather's old breaker bar at the joint. My brother reminded me to hit it with some PB blaster, which did the trick. Not sure why I forgot that! It scares me that I'm going to screw something up along the way.

A couple days ago we got the case back from the shop where they cleaned and soda blasted.