Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Sand Rail Resurrection Project
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Icy
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:44 pm    Post subject: Sand Rail Resurrection Project Reply with quote

Hi guys, I'm new to The Samba, and to VW in general. I have a buddy who recommended this site for help with my new project!

It is a custom caged dune buggy on a bug pan, with a VW bus transmission, and a 1600cc dual port motor. (As far as I know)

Here are some pics:

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

This is quite a project- I've made a list of some things it needs:
- Brakes (master might be seized)
- motor needs a tune up/ rebuild (hasn't been run in a while- might also be seized)
- Wiring is chopped
- no shift linkages
- fuel lines, oil lines, gas tank is loose
- seats and any kind of safety harness
- New paint!

This may look rough, but it was a good deal, and the tires and wheels alone made it worth it for me. It's going to be a learning experience!

Any pointers, parts identification, or tips would be appreciated! Thanks guys!
SvFalcons74
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like shit bud Wink
gman3850
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2015 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if it was me i would sell the bus box and put an normal bug trans in there so u can keep stock shift linkange without doing custom work, pluss youll put some money back in your wallet.

throw some rattle can on it to freshen up look and i would redo the brakes because it isnt that expensive to do so. if the motor runs, do a tune up and that should be fine.

all depends on what your budget and use for it is.