Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Subaru Conversion and Rebuild of a 1984 Blue Westy
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
BlueNorthWesty
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:58 pm    Post subject: Subaru Conversion and Rebuild of a 1984 Blue Westy Reply with quote

UPDATED: I'll be updating frequently. Scroll down to see how the work is progressing.

+++++++++++++

I've been browsing this site for a few months and I've found it a great source of information and inspiration. It got me thinking I need a Westy. I've always wanted a VW camper - our family had one when I was a kid.

Recently, after a particularly cold and rainy camping trip (me, my wife and 9 year old daughter in a tent with a Jetta as our camping car) I decided it was time for our own Westy.

I don't do things the easy way. I looked for a van that needed some help and I found one with an blown head gasket and some rust that was going cheap.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I'll be posting photos as I go through the process of getting it running again and dealing with the rust. I look forward to your comments, maybe some advice and sharing the adventure!

Last edited by BlueNorthWesty on Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:44 pm; edited 2 times in total
hogan029
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice!

I am also from Calgary and just picked one up. PM me.
BlueNorthWesty
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2014 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Hogan029. I can't PM for 1 day because I just joined. Maybe you can PM me instead? I'd be glad to connect with someone local!
leathersmyth
Samba Member