Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Rich's 62 ghia build
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Rich62ghia
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:35 am    Post subject: Rich's 62 ghia build Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I have been reading TS for a couple of months now after restarting the restoration on my 62 coupe. I am new to the whole social media thing and have been so impressed with the knowledge here, hoping to learn alot, and contribute where I can. After seeing some great build posts thought I might add my own.

My ghia was originally owned by a local doctor who drove it for a number of years before giving it to his son. Apparrently the son parked it on a hill where the brake failed and ended up crashing the front end. The car was written off by the insurance company and sold to a scrap yard. The PO bought it from the scrap yard in 1977, with the intention of a custom rebuild. However along came kids and after taking the body off the pan and respraying the body, it sat in his garage until 1997 when I came along and managed to convince him to sell it to me. At the time I told him it would only take me about 6 months to get it finished, how I was wrong. I started by finishing rust repairs on the pan and striping the body of bog(bondo) trying my hand at lead wiping. I managed to get the pan sprayed, under body sprayed and started prepping the top when lifes priorities changed(marriage, kids etc). This was 2003 and the ghia remained untouched until last year when I could wait no longer. Hoping that after 35years off the road she will soon be driving . Here are some pics so far
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Leaving for the paint shop

Rewiring the front